March 2, 2024

Didcot Gateway

Building Cars, People First

Clean Air Zones: what you need to know

Clean Air Zones: what you need to know

However, even if your vehicle does fall outside of Euro 4 or 6, you may still be able to avoid a charge, depending on what kind of vehicle it is and the type of CAZ that you wish to drive through. Four types of CAZ exist, each of which targets different classes of vehicles. These are:

(1) Class A – which targets buses, coaches, taxis and private hire vehicles (PHVs).

(2) Class B – which targets buses, coaches, taxis, PHVs and heavy goods vehicles (HGVs),

(3) Class C – which targets buses, coaches, taxis, PHVs, HGVs and light goods vehicles (LGVs),

(4) Class D, the most wide-ranging – which targets buses, coaches, taxis, PHVs, HGVs LGVs and cars.

Most of the CAZs that are scheduled to be introduced in the UK are Class D. But cities such as Bath and Portsmouth will be Class C only, so in these cities, regular passenger vehicle drivers will not have to pay.

Finally, it is important to note that nearly all CAZs make special exemptions for residents within the zone, Blue Badge holders and vehicles with a disabled tax class, although the scale of the exemption offered varies between cities.


Bristol – launching 28 November 2022

Zone type: Class D

Cost per day for HGVs, buses and coaches: £100

Cost per day for taxis: £9

Cost per day for regular passenger cars: £9

Bristol will adopt what’s known as a Small CAZ D. This will cover a relatively small area but restricts both older, more polluting private cars and commercial vehicles. The zone, which will operate at all times, including bank holidays, will comprise a relatively small area spanning Bristol centre to Temple Quay and the immediate surroundings. Non-compliant LGVs, buses, coaches and taxis as well as non-compliant private vehicles will incur charges for entering the zone.